OPI An Affair In Red Square

2 coats, sunlight

An Affair in Red Square is a red shimmer polish from OPI’s Russian collection in 2007. It’s an oldie but goodie. It’s a true Hollywood-glam kind of red and it was really easy to apply. While doing research about this polish, I noticed many people comparing it to an OPI classic – I’m Not Really a Waitress.  I don’t have that but after looking at pictures online, I think I prefer An Affair in Red Square, which is a brighter red and does not have that berry/wine undertone. But I must say, I really like the name of that polish. It’s almost like, hi I am Sookie Stackhouse and I’m not really a waitress. I’m a mind-reading kick ass fairy (True Blood geekiness). In contrast, I don’t know what to make of An Affair in Red Square. I have nothing clever to say about it!

I’m not a shimmer person but I really love this polish. There’s something incredible sophisticated and womanly about it. I feel like I should be in a gown every moment I’m wearing this. The only other red shimmer I own is China Glaze Branding Iron. And while the colour is nothing alike, I have it swatched on my index finger so show you my one and only red shimmer polish. I have China Glaze Ruby Pumps on my pinkie.

With Orly Pointe Blanche

Here I wanted to see if An Affair in Red Square would look nice as the red in the Singapore flag. It’s not too bad I think. It keeps the manicure from looking flat and just adds the teeny kind of sparkle.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hermetic
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 04:42:53

    I too have it and love it so much, although I rarely wear shimmery polishes, this one is so glow-y it’s absolutely amazing. Great photos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

