Orly Cupcake

2 coats, sunlight

Orly Cupcake is a pretty old nail polish from the Sugar Coated collection. I got it a while back but hadn’t had a chance to swatch it until now. This is a dusty pink creme with a tinge of blue undertone. It has the prettiest name. How can you resist a polish called Cupcake? In terms of application, this was pretty difficult to apply. I had to use two thick coats for opacity; this would be more like three thin coats if I had applied it properly.

On a side note, I recently discovered how to create rounded edges in my pictures!

A comparison with China Glaze Something Sweet will show that Cupcake is not as sweet a pink and has a more medium tone. It also lacks the orange tone that Pop Beauty O’Boy has.

With OPI Crown Me Already and Nubar 2010

Yay! Rounded corners again. Oops, I digress. This is the final look I will wear for the week. It’s a very simple pink base with silver glitter tips. OPI Crown Me Already is a great polish for glitter tips because it’s very dense and the bits are varied. I topped up with Nubar 2010 but you can’t really see it in the picture unless you zoom in. It’s for a more subtle look and I just wanted to blend everything together so that the glitter will not be so harsh.

I’ve been thinking of featuring other products apart from nail polish on this blog. Yes, I know it’s called PoppyNAILS. And no, it’s because I am getting sick of polish. It’s because I don’t really like to swatch colours on myself but I haven’t had time to meet up with friends for painting sessions like we used to. Even if we meet up to paint nails, it’s usually in the evenings and I need the morning/afternoon light to take proper pictures.

If I were to do product reviews, it wouldn’t be for makeup because I have the same brown eyeshadow palette I’ve kept for the past three years. I thought it would be interesting to features things that bloggers don’t normally feature. Oftentimes I’ve searched for reviews of things like L’Occitane body moisturisers but nobody can be half-arsed to write about body lotions. Understandably of course! Polish pictures we can all look and admire but it would be hard to write about scents and texture!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hermetic
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 21:28:28

    I’m not into pink nails but this one is very soft looking and I’d wear it for sure, very pretty

    Reply

    • lecoquelicot
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 11:12:19

      Yes I don’t really like pinks as well but this I can deal with! Anyway I tried to leave a comment on your blog but I was unable to. I am not sure why, I can’t seem to select a profile, the thing won’t scroll…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

