Essie Matte About You

MAC Blue India

With Essie Matte About You

Essie Matte About You is a top coat that mattifies nail polishes. It was really quick drying and you can see your polish transform to a matte finish right in front of your eyes. Really cool. I think this is great if you’re in a rush for time and want your polishes to dry very quickly. Here you can see the effect over a blue creme. It seems to “rubber-ify” the polish.

(L-R) Zoya Charla, China Glaze Ruby Pumps, OPI Crown Her Already and China Glaze Ick-A-Body (all two coats)

With Essie Matte About You top coat

Here is where this matte top coat really shines – over glitter polishes. The glitter bits are frozen and suspended in a pool of colour. Out of the four polishes I swatched, I think that Zoya Charla looks the best mattified, probably because of its complexity. The other three are more straightforward glitters.

(L-R) OPI Argenteeny Pinkini, Maybelline Copperglaze Platinum, China Glaze Wagon Trail and China Glaze Branding Iron (all two coats)

With Essie Matte About You

Okay, I’m not such a big shimmer fan so I have very limited shimmer polishes. The first two are more traditional “mother-era” shimmers where you can see brush strokes if you don’t paint properly. The other two, from China Glaze rather recent Rodeo Diva collection, represent the more modern shimmers. To me, Wagon Trail is the clear winner for this round. You can see the little specks of olive shimmer peaking out from the dark base, which is quite cool.

Overall, I must say that I had fun with this top coat. I can’t wait to try it out on more glitter polishes because that’s where I think it really excels. Frozen Charla is a beauty!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 23:46:44

    Hi, may I ask where you got the Essie Matte About You polish? I’ve been trying to find it on sg blogshops I know but they’re all outta stock =(

    Reply

    • lecoquelicot
      Aug 28, 2011 @ 14:10:28

      I got it from nailvibe.sg not the online store but the physical store at China Square. But I’m pretty sure you can get it delivered to you as well if you send them an email. Good luck!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Illamasqua Load « Poppynails

Leave a Reply

