China Glaze Wagon Trail

Wagon Trail, from China Glaze Fall 2008 Rodeo Diva collection, is a glossy brown-black base with olive and gold shimmer. Under certain lighting, there is even multi-coloured micro glitter. It was one of the polishes I was most excited to have after seeing swatches online; a glowing blackened olive sounded perfect and EVERYONE seemed to be raving about it. But I don’t like it on me because there is just too much black and too little olive. Sure, the olive glows from certain angles, but 80% of the time, my nails just look dull. Look! Even the bottle shows more green than my nails.

Application, however, is perfect. I am not thrilled about the colour, but the smooth, buttery application dries to a very glossy, polished car finish.

Let’s try it on Amanda’s toes. Nope, still way more black than green. But you can see how glossy it is here, even without topcoat.

Maybe some gold glitter a la China Glaze Treasure Chest will help to bring out the olive tones? Nope, still as black as ever.

But thanks be to the wonderful world of Makeupalley, I found a new home for this polish and will be receiving China Glaze Flying Dragon (purple with glitter) in return. Cross my fingers for that!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Haul #1 « Le Coquelicot
  2. Asami
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 02:10:19

    I don’t have a bottle of “Wagon Trail” but I really want one! Your swatch makes it look so gorgeous; I love that mossy olive flash.

    About your World of Warcraft manicure comment, I was interested because I love quirky stuff like that, but unfortunately I have no idea where I would start! I’ve never played the game myself. I’m sorry, I think it would be a super fun look if the right person did it but I know nothing about the MMO. I’m a really lame gamer who plays easy girly games like The Sims. XD

    Reply

  3. Asami
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 12:36:20

    I LOVE Ambitions! You should definitely get it; it’s way better than World Adventures.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: NARS Zulu « Poppynails
  5. Trackback: Nubar Yellow Primrose « Poppynails
  6. Trackback: Essie Matte About You « Poppynails

Leave a Reply

